Nameless Cocktail

The Keeper and I had reason to be in beautiful Roanoke, Virginia this weekend.

While we were there we had dinner in this lovely little Mediterranean restaurant called Arzu in downtown Roanoke.

I was too hungry to get pictures of everything, but we started off with an appetizer called Borek, filo dough stuffed with feta and then baked in butter. They were very tasty. I may have to find a recipe and make them myself the next time The Keeper and I throw a party. For our meals I believe The Keeper got lamb kabobs, but I didn’t get a picture of that. I got veal saltimbocca.

Mmmmmm, baby cow…

Veal Saltimboca

Everything was delicious, but I think that what I was most impressed with is the cocktail I had. I had taken a look at the wine list and hadn’t seen anything I was interested in so I was just going to stick with water. The server said that they also serve cocktails, but there wasn’t a menu of house cocktails. He said that if I told him what kind of alcohol and flavors I liked, he would make something for me. I was feeling adventurous enough to go ahead and take the bait, so I told him that I like rum and berries.

This is what he brought me (except a little fuller, because I didn’t think to take the picture until after I’d drunk half of it)

CB Special

He pretty much ignored what I said about berries, but it was incredible so I didn’t really hold that against him. If I remember correctly, he said that it contained spiced rum, peach schnapps, cranberry juice and pineapple juice. He also said he couldn’t give a proper cocktail name for it because it was just something he made up. I need to know if this is a real cocktail so I can order it from other places and make it myself. It was fantastic!

2 thoughts on “Nameless Cocktail

  1. It sounds a bit like a Captain Morgasm.

    Captain Morgasm (Cocktail)

    Captain Morgan’s Spiced Rum, Cranberry Juice, Malibu Rum, Orange Juice, Peach Schnapps, Pineapple Juice

  2. Ooo, ok. I’ll look up the proportions of that and try to make it soon then, to see if it’s the same. Though I’m fairly sure there was no orange juice in what I had. Still sounds tasty though. Thank you!

Leave a comment