Dungeons and Dragons, Make Way For Pathfinder

I got into tabletop role-playing games when I was about 15. My older sister had been playing them and painting miniatures for them for what seemed like ages. One time when she visited from college she brought minis and paint with her, and my younger sister and I painted them. So by the time I was in high school I knew enough about RPGs to know that I was interested in trying one.
Then came my first serious boyfriend. He was a gamer of all sorts. He played RPGs, miniature war games, video games, board games, collectible card games. And he had friends who did those things too, so all of a sudden there were multiple people around who played these games that I’d been wanting to try.

Unfortunately, being high school kids, people never seemed to be able to commit to a regular game session. That’s not a big deal with some games, but an RPG is an ongoing thing. So we ended up playing a few sessions of one thing before it disintegrated, then a few sessions of something else with a slightly different group of people, and so on. I think the first game I ever played was Vampire: The Masquerade and it lasted maybe two sessions. My high school boyfriend ran a few sessions of a game based on the Dragon Lance (I think?) book series; and later a short lived Cthulu game with myself and one other player. We found an awesome little gaming shop and played some strange wild west flavored game. And, of course, there were numerous attempts at D&D games.

D&D is the only one I actually stuck with once I got out of high school. During my one year at college I tried to join a gaming club, but I didn’t really feel like I meshed with the people very well. So, I took a break from gaming for a while and got into another scene. But it didn’t take too long before I was in a relationship with another gamer geek. And, moving to a new area notwithstanding, it wasn’t much longer after that before we found a D&D group to play with. I’ve been with that group (or, well, that game master since he and I are the only ones left from the original group) for six years now. And until a month or two ago we had been playing D&D the whole time.

But ever since the fourth edition of D&D came out it seems like everyone, everywhere wants some kind of change. For those of us who hate the way fourth edition has turned D&D into a cross between a collectible card game and a video game, there is an alternative.

Pathfinder.

Pathfinder is the natural progression of D&D 3.5. It takes the overall system from 3.5 and tweaks it to make a little more sense, then takes the classes and does an overhaul to them to make them more interesting. Pathfinder is for the player who wants their fighter to just fight and leave the magic to the spellcasters. Pathfinder is for the player who wants their cleric to actually be useful in regard to healing, instead of being pushed into the background by fourth edition D&D’s decision to let EVERYONE just heal themselves. Pathfinder is the new D&D, and D&D has become a game for small children.

2 thoughts on “Dungeons and Dragons, Make Way For Pathfinder

  1. Whoah! Small children? I agree with you on everything up to that point. My 4th edition home game has six members, none younger than 27, including two Masters students (one in molecular physiology), one web developer, and three 30 something working professionals. Our games take an intense level of strategy not found at your local Encounters game.

    Like Pathfinder if you will, it is the new 3rd edition D&D, but that doesn’t mean 4e sucks, nor does Vampire, Champions, Cthulhu, or any of the other of the hundreds RPG’s out there that aren’t Pathfinder.

  2. I say 4e is for children because the rules are ridiculously easy to learn. It is a game more geared toward getting younger kids into roleplaying games because it’s easy to create a character and easy to learn enough of the rules to be able to play in a short amount of time, in my opinion. And that’s not necessarily a bad thing. But for someone like me who has been playing for a while and who both HATES collectible card games (which, despite not actually having cards 4e is very reminiscent of) and wants their beefy, meatshield/tank characters to be just that instead of having a bunch of spell-like powers, it is not interesting and it is not fun. And I’m sorry, but you can have “an intense level of strategy” in any game, any system. That has more to do with the PEOPLE playing the game than with the system itself.

    Also, I never said anything sucked. I would LOVE to get into a really good Cthulu game. I wouldn’t mind finding someone who wanted to run a Mutants & Masterminds game, seeing as my brother in law writes for that game and I and my sisters are all premade villains in it. I just really hate where D&D took their game with 4e. I have tried playing it, and to be honest the gameplay wasn’t too terrible. But it really bothers me that they gave everyone the ability to heal and that everyone has spell-like powers. It just isn’t D&D anymore, it’s a different game entirely.

Leave a Reply

