Chicken Pot Pie

Chicken Pot Pie

I don’t really like to cook chicken. It seems like no matter what I do to it, it’s just not very good. I season, I marinade, I bread, but unless I’m making some sort of casserole with it my chicken just never seems to be all that great. In casserole dishes, the chicken doesn’t have to be impressive. It just has to be cooked. Which is one reason that I love chicken pot pie. I also love it because it’s easy to make. And, most importantly, it’s delicious. Here’s how I make my chicken pot pie:

2 boneless chicken breast halves
1 cup frozen peas
1 cup frozen corn
~ 3 or 4 medium size red potatoes
1 can cream of chicken soup
2 pie crusts

Boil the chicken and potatoes for about 15-20 minutes. While waiting for chicken and potatoes to cook, prepare 2 pie crusts. Once chicken is cooked through, remove pot from heat. Shred chicken and chop potatoes into cubes. Combine chicken, peas, corn, potatoes and cream of chicken soup in large bowl and toss/stir until meat and veg are coated in the soup. Pour chicken goop into pie shell, cover with second crust , perforate and bake at 375F for 45 minutes or until crust is golden.

This recipe allows for a lot of playing with the ingredients. Really, the measurements are kind of arbitrary, I just estimated them. What you basically want to do is make sure you have enough to fill your pie pan, and you can do that with these ingredients or anything you like. Carrots, onion, or celery could easily be added or substituted for other ingredients. If you want more gravy in your pie, you could use more than one can of the cream of chicken soup. And if you want a different meat or a vegetarian pie, just take out the chicken and add whatever you’d like.

Leave a Reply

