Pancakes, Or, The Laziest Hot Breakfast In The US Besides Instant Oatmeal

IMG_0117

I don’t think I have a favorite breakfast (unless you count “anything with bacon”), but I like pancakes quite a bit. Recently, I ran out of the boxed mix I had been using for pancakes and decided to try a recipe for them that I’d seen on the recipe app on my phone. This led me to discover two things. First, forgetting the baking powder makes for very, very dense not-fluffy-at-all pancakes. And second, making pancakes without a boxed mix is ridiculously easy. Seriously, I cannot fathom now why my mother, or I, ever spent any money on boxed pancake mix when this is all you need for making pancakes:

1 cup flour
2 eggs
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon sugar
3/4 cup milk
2 teaspoons melted butter

Combine the eggs, milk and butter, then add the dry ingredients and whisk until the dry ingredients are no longer dry. Spoon or pour into pan, flip when tops start to bubble, remove from pan when both sides are browned.

It. Is. That. Easy.

I also recently discovered Almond Meal and I’ve been substituting it for 1/3-1/2 of the flour in this recipe, which has been delicious.

2 thoughts on “Pancakes, Or, The Laziest Hot Breakfast In The US Besides Instant Oatmeal

  1. I’ll have to try this some time. I think I’ve got most of it and can pick up the rest easily enough. And it’s likely to be messy enough to match my usual attempts at cooking.

Leave a Reply

