30 Days of Kink: Day 20

Talk about something within kink/bdsm that you’re curious about/don’t understand.

I feel like I’ve mentioned plenty of things I’m curious about through the course of this meme, but I haven’t really talked much about things I don’t understand. That’s probably because most of the things that I don’t understand within BDSM and kink are fetishes that I am not curious about in the least. They don’t interest me or turn me on at all so I usually just sort of mentally shrug and go about my business, because I don’t feel it’s my place to pass judgment about something that gets someone else off. I don’t need to understand something in order to accept that someone else is into it. But, since the topic has come up, here is a list of some kink related things that I just do not get:

  • Podophilia (foot fetish)
  • Incest fantasies and roleplay
  • Women-popping-balloons-with-their-ass fetish
  • Urolagnia (urine fetish)
  • Agalmatophilia (arousal by statues, mannequins and immobility)
  • Coprophilia (feces fetish)
  • Dendrophilia (arousal by trees)
  • Emetophilia (vomit fetish)
  • Pedophilia
  • Lactophilia (breast milk fetish)
  • Mechanophilia (arousal by cars or other machines)
  • Mucophilia (mucus fetish)
  • Necrophilia
  • Baby play
  • Pedovestism (arousal from dressing as a child)
  • Zoophilia (arousal by animals)
  • Zoosadism (arousal from inflicting pain or seeing pain inflicted on animals)

I’m sure there are many, many more, but these should give a good idea of the kinds of things I don’t understand. Now that I think about it, I really don’t understand what I would call “extreme fetishism”. What I mean by that is that I don’t understand any fetish that is a truly integral part of someone’s ability to achieve sexual gratification.

For instance, I can understand liking the way feet look or that for some people the feet are an erogenous zone. What I cannot wrap my head around is people who can’t orgasm unless they are having their feet rubbed/licked/sucked/etc or unless they are doing so to someone else’s feet. Same with fetishes involving certain items of clothing. I can totally understand being turned on by various pieces of clothing, but the idea of not being able to orgasm unless I or my partner is wearing something specific just kind of seems like it would become boring after a while.

Now, that’s not to say that there aren’t some fetishes on the above list that I just completely don’t understand no matter how mild or extreme the individual case. Pedophilia is one that I completely don’t understand. I also don’t get the appeal of any of the fetishes involving bodily fluids. However, I feel I should reiterate that just because I don’t understand it doesn’t give me any right to judge others. Even in the case of pedophilia, I don’t feel justified in judging unless they act on their fetish. Otherwise I just kind of feel bad for them, because they’re wired in such an unfortunate way. But that’s probably a discussion for another time.

Leave a Reply

