The Platypus Circa 2001

Until about 4 months ago I had been keeping a LiveJournal. I’m not going to link to it because it was in no way anonymous (which, incidentally is, in a way, the reason I no longer post there but that’s a story for another time), but I decided tonight to peruse a few of the earliest entries. These earliest entries are from way back in 2001 when I was 17 years old, and as you might imagine they do read a bit angsty and emo at times. But, to my surprise, they are also kind of… encouragingly self aware? I’m not sure if that’s quite the right turn of phrase, but I think it’s close. Anyhow, I read this paragraph from the end of an entry and it made me smile, so I wanted to re-post it here.

“I was reading a little of Beyond Good and Evil earlier tonight. It was talking about truth and why we strive to know the "truth". Is there really any reason for that? Striving to know the truth? Why do we seem to think there even is one all encompassing truth? It seems to me that if there were really any truth about the origins of humanity, we would be a little closer to it by now than we are. Maybe there is some huge truth about life, but since we can only look at it from a human perspective, we will never be able to truly see it. I think that’s probably what the truth is, that we will never be able to truly know the truth. In which case, we should just not strive for it. We should make up beliefs in our minds based on the fact that we know absolutely nothing. *sigh* It’s actually very comforting to know in your heart that you know nothing. It keeps all the possibilities in life open if you keep that one thought close to you.”

Leave a Reply

