Product Review

So I realize this is a little out of the ordinary for this blog. Usually if I’m reviewing something it’s a movie, or a video game, or a restaurant. I don’t even have a “persona” that I feel like this even fits into, which is why I’m posting this under Platypus Prime. And to be completely honest, I’m still a little undecided on the product I’m about to review here. But for some reason I feel compelled to write about this. So here goes.

I posted a question on FetLife recently. In another thread I’d seen more than one person talking about how they don’t shave their nether regions, they use a hair removal cream for sensitive areas. No one said what brand of cream they used though, so I asked. I wanted to know what people were using, because every time I looked into using these types of cream the instructions have said not to use them in the area I wanted to use them. I was expecting a bunch of people to mention Nair and Veet, and hopefully elaborate so that I wouldn’t feel intimidated by the instructions on those products anymore. And a few people did mention those, but a few others suggested something I never would have thought to use.

SoftSheen-Carson brand Magic Razorless Cream Shave

 
(The tube I got was green, but this is the best picture I could find.)

Actually, the recommendation I got was for the powdered version that you mix with water to make the cream, but I didn’t see that when I went to CVS and I wasn’t too keen on mixing it up anyway if there was a ready made cream available.

Anyhow, the reason I never would have even known this existed is because it is a men’s product. More specifically, it is a black men’s product. Apparently black men have trouble with razor bumps, so SoftSheen created something for them to use on their faces that didn’t involve a razor. And, according to the people in my FetLife discussion, it works really well on girly naughty bits as well as legs, underarms and anywhere else you have hair you want to get rid of. So I got some and today I tried it.

It was weird.

First, it smells kinda weird. I’ve been trying to come up with a way to describe the smell, or something to compare it to, and I’ve got nothing. It’s just weird.

Next, it seems to be water resistant. After I slathered some on my mons I tried to rinse off the cream that was left on my fingers. Regardless of water temperature it just kind of sat there. I had to rub to get it off. Not such a big deal for my hands, but when it came time to remove the cream and hair it was a bit annoying. See, I was using a plastic card (think credit card, or a restaurant rewards card) because one of the people who’d suggested this product said that’s what his girl uses. The problem is that after a couple passes with the card, there’s a buildup of cream. Rinsing wasn’t working. Annoying.

Finally, the results are kind of mixed. I used it on my mons and on one leg. It left stubble on my mons instead of smooth skin. But it seems to have worked pretty well on my leg.

I think I’m going to keep using it, try to get used to using it. At least until I run out, since I don’t want to waste it.

Leave a Reply

