Food In Fayetteville

The Keeper and I were in Fayetteville, NC this weekend with his family celebrating a birthday. I could write an entire post about how much I wish I had just stayed home, but I’d rather focus on the food rather than the drama.

The majority of the cuisine on this trip was nothing to really rave about, but there were a few highlights.

First, there was The Mash House.
The Mash House

The Mash House is a microbrewery as well as a restaurant, so obviously The Keeper had to go there to try their beer, because he is a beer snob. He was able to get his first Hefeweizen of the summer, and I got a taster of their fruit beer.
Strawberry Blonde Beer

They said it was strawberry, but I couldn’t really tell. I wasn’t overly fond of it, but then again I don’t really like beer.

Dinner was much better though. I got a dish called Steak Oscar. It was flatiron steak topped with a crab cake and Hollandaise with asparagus and garlic mashed potatoes.
 Steak 'Oscar'

It was pretty fabulous. The crab cake was really good, and I’m usually kind of ‘meh’ about crab cakes. The steak I maybe could have done medium rare instead of medium, but overall it was very tasty. I didn’t realize Hollandaise was so yummy. And the potatoes and asparagus were pretty much perfect. I was pleased.

Another highlight, which I unfortunately was not able to get pictures of, was a coffee shop called The Coffee Scene. The place was beautiful. Two stories with a little partially enclosed seating area out front, couches and comfy chairs on the first floor where the register and ordering counter is and then more seating upstairs. The decoration was nice and low key, the staff was friendly and fun, the muffins we had were awesome and the coffee was pretty good too. I really wish I could find something similar up here near my apartment.

Lastly, to leave you with a picture, we treated the birthday girl to Applebee’s the night before we left and I had this Kiwi- Melon "Sangria".
Kiwi Melon Sangria

It tasted like a jolly rancher! Mmmmmm…

Leave a Reply

