The Mundane

Two more days and no more job. I’m part of a layoff and Friday is my last day. I’ve known about it for a while (since, like, May of last year), but it’s a little strange for the day to finally almost be here. I’m not quite sure what I’m going to do. Since I was notified about the layoff I’ve been sending resume’s out all over the place, but I’ve had no luck and to be honest I’m not terribly thrilled by the idea of another cube monkey job. I mean, if I can get something that pays well and requires so little effort that I’m able to get online and bullshit around all day like at this place, yea ok I wouldn’t mind that. I just don’t have much hope that will happen. Most other companies have far tighter controls on what people can and can’t do online at work, I just kinda lucked out here.

I could try to do something completely different, but I’m not sure what I’d do. I have a friend (back in the area where I grew up, not where I live now) who took a cake baking or decorating class or something and now has a business where she spends very little time and money making specialty cakes and selling them for ridiculously huge profits. I think that’s something I might be able to do, but I’m not sure. OEN has started her own greeting card business since she got laid off. I have no interest in that, but I’m wondering if there’s anything similar I could maybe do? There are some craft things that I’m fairly certain I could sell, but they take so long and so much effort to make that I’m not sure I could actually profit from them. I’ve begun thinking about basically setting something up so people pay me for general life advice, but I’m not sure I have the credentials for that. I don’t even know what the credentials for that would be, I just know that I give really good advice a lot of the time. I have a little time before the money runs out though, and if I come up with something really, truly kick ass I can lean on The Keeper a little I’m sure. Technically he could probably support both of us on his own, but I don’t want him to have to.

In other news, I think I may start using Google Buzz. If you have a Google account and want to follow me, my Gmail address is over there on the Contact a Platypus page *points at the sidebar*. If you do not have a Google account and you want to follow me, I’ve added a link over on the sidebar under the Other Blogs You Should Read category for my Buzz profile. I realize it’s not a blog, but I didn’t feel like adding a new category for just one link. Maybe I’ll add links for other people’s Buzzes or Twitters I like and then add a category. We’ll see.

I had been considering Twitter, even though I kind of had a bit of a hate-on for it, because a lot of the bloggers and webcomic artists I follow have Twitter and it is kind of cool to go to their page periodically and read through their updates. Especially OEN. But Buzz seems to be similar and is connected with the email and docs I use for this blog, so I think I’ll just use it, at least for now.

Leave a Reply

