Superbowl XLIV

I am conflicted. In two weeks my team, the Indianapolis Colts, will be traveling to South Florida to play in THE game. That one game that every team strives toward all season long. The Superbowl.
 
Their opponent is the New Orleans Saints. Therein lies the conflict. I love my Colts. They’ve been my team since I got interested in football about 5 years ago (yes, I am aware that being a fan for 5 years is nothing compared to the lifetime, born and bred football fans that generally write blog posts about this sort of thing). But at the same time, I know that my Colts have been here before. They’ve been to the Superbowl and won it. The Saints haven’t. Ever. They’ve made it into the playoffs a couple times, but this will be their first appearance in the Superbowl. Their fans have been waiting decades for this. And they have a very compelling story, what with Katrina a few years ago and all. I believe that the Saints fans and the team really, truly deserve this. They’ve been through so much. All the losing seasons, the times they got close but then had it snatched away, the flood, the rebuilding, everything. They just deserve this chance, and it will be profoundly sad if they get there and then don’t pull out a win.

But, if they do pull out a win that will mean that my team lost. It’ll be one more time that Peyton has come so far only to get stomped on. The Colts have been in the playoffs every year since 2002. They’ve won their division every one of those years except 2002 and 2008. They’ve been to the Superbowl twice and won it once, in 2006 playing against the Chicago Bears. Peyton is such an amazing quarterback, but he only has two Superbowl appearances. That’s just not right.

So, I am conflicted. I don’t really know who to root for. I know that I will root for my team, because they’re my team. But I know that if the Saints had made the impression on me five years ago that they’ve made the past couple of years, they would be my team and I would be rooting for them. It’s going to be an emotional game, I think.

2 thoughts on “Superbowl XLIV

  1. If your that unsure, go with the Saints! woohoooo Dat! lol I don’t dislike the Colt and we may (very well may) lose to them but I’m still on cloud 9. It’s all good ’cause the Saints are in the Super Bowl. Wow.

  2. Well, like I said, you deserve to be on cloud 9. But did you miss the part where I said the Colts are my team? I would be a really shitty fan if I rooted against my team in the Superbowl, wouldn’t I? No, I know who I’m going to root for, but I’m still conflicted because I like both teams quite a bit.

Leave a Reply

